Project

General

Profile

Bug #30630

clarification/removal needed: docs recommend upgrading with authentication disabled

Added by Joao Eduardo Luis about 1 year ago. Updated about 1 year ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Normal
Category:
documentation
Target version:
-
Start date:
08/28/2018
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Source:
Development
Tags:
Backport:
Regression:
No
Severity:
3 - minor
Reviewed:
Affected Versions:
ceph-qa-suite:
Pull request ID:
Crash signature:

Description

This [1] is a bit that was initially included in 2013, and has been moved around since then. It states

Important

When upgrading, we recommend expressly disabling authentication first, then perform the upgrade. Once the upgrade is complete, re-enable authentication.

I find it weird that we are recommending disabling authentication during an upgrade.

IIRC, I haven't seen anyone explicitly disabling authentication during an upgrade for years, and it would be nice to do one of two things:

1. remove this notice; or,
2. explain in which circumstances this would be advised.

Definitely drop the "recommend" keyword though. I don't think we should be recommending any of that :)

[1] http://docs.ceph.com/docs/master/rados/configuration/common/#authentication

History

#1 Updated by Joao Eduardo Luis about 1 year ago

  • Description updated (diff)

#2 Updated by Joao Eduardo Luis about 1 year ago

  • Assignee set to Joao Eduardo Luis

Also available in: Atom PDF